· About us · Buccaneers · Hurricanes · Hercules · Voyagers · Learning · Support us

The School Governing Body discusses and makes decisions on the strategic direction of the school. 

For example, it is their role to decide on our ethos and values and to check that what we are doing is in keeping with this. With the headteacher, they plan how we will use our budget each year, including how many staff we will have. They also have a role overseeing the standards which children achieve at our school: they ask questions to make sure that the school knows what its priorities are and is addressing them effectively. 

On this page you will find the minutes of the full governing body meetings, which take place six times a year. Minutes can only be published after the subsequent meeting, when they have been ratified, so there is always a delay of a couple of months between the meeting and publication.


The governing body has two committees: Resources Committee, and Performance and Learning Committee. Membership of the committees is as follows:

Resources: Chris Rushton (Chair), Miranda Mowbray, Anna Fairhurst, Alistair Doran, Jon Conner

Performance and Learning: Tracy Barnett (Chair), Christine Eaglestone, Bridget Winter,  Anna Fairhurst

Pecuniary Interests

The governors have the following pecuniary interests:

Anna Fairhurst - systemed.net web design and cartography (husband's business)

Alistair Doran - Founder and Managing Director at Architecting Solutions Ltd

other governors - none

Governor attendance record 

Attendance record for the academic year 2017 - 18:

Full: Miranda Mowbray, Anna Fairhurst, Chris Rushton, Alistair Doran, Angus Shipway, Christine Eaglestone and Peter Clark (clerk); also Rob Mills (Autumn term only) 

Absent with approval Sept 2017: Tracy Barnett, Bridget Winter

Absent with approval Nov 2017: Tracy Barnett, Jon Conner

Absent with approval Jan 2018: Tracy Barnett, Christine Eaglestone

Absent with approval March 2018: Alex Skym

Absent May 2018: nil

Absent with approval July 2018: Chris Rushton, Christine Eaglestone, Tracy Barnett